top of page
Search

What if I'm just a fruit fly, but not the fruitiest fly? Everyone's a fruitier fly than me!

Ok, so maybe that's a bit of a silly title, but I want to talk about an important issue that lots of us have. I want to talk about the self-doubt and worry that comes when we compare ourselves to others.



Have you ever achieved something that you're happy with, but then seen that someone else has gone and done something even 'better' and then felt a little down? I definitely have! Especially with social media. Of course, I love it when I hear about friends, colleagues, or people I haven't yet met achieving wonderful things that make them happy! That's great for them, and I want them to be happy. But sometimes it makes me feel a little inadequate. I've definitely had days of writing my thesis where I finish a small piece of work then end up scrolling through social media, seeing people who have done things that I'd consider way more impressive.


And I feel that's the case with many aspects of life. You could get a qualification, but it always seems like there's someone who's got a better qualification than you. You could run a marathon, but there's always someone who's run it faster. You could get a job promotion, but there's always someone who has a slightly higher job...


This constant comparison isn't helpful. You don't have to be the best in the world. That doesn't matter. If you can aim to be the best version of you, that's the biggest thing anyone could ask of you. Goals and achievements are personal, and we all start from a different starting point and encounter different obstacles. If you achieve a goal, no matter how small (and I mean it can be super small, like getting dressed in the morning or doing something to look after yourself), then that's great, no matter what anyone else might have done.


It's fine to just be a fruit fly. You're enough as you are xx

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page